Skype users be warned : Do not open any message whose subject line is “lol is this your new profile pic?” !

This message directs individuals to a malware infected file, using an URL shortener services like goo.gl, that in turn infects an individual’s computers.

This malware collects user names and passwords for numerous sites and services including Facebook, Twitter, Godaddy, Paypal, eBay, Netflix and Yahoo. It may also lock your system and send unsolicited messages to individuals in your contact lists, asking your contacts to download the infected file(s) to their computers.

Skype advises their users to refrain from clicking “on suspicious or unusual files and links, even if it’s coming from people you know”. They also suggest their users update their software, including their anti-virus software.